The Pioneer Village was Part of the Dream of Everett Dean
Everett Dean was born in Livonia, Indiana in 1898. Dean became the head baseball and basketball coach at his alma mater, Indiana University, from 1924 to 1938. In 1938, Dean was named head basketball coach at Stanford University, where he coached the team to the 1942 NCAA championship. Dean was named baseball coach at Stanford in 1950, and led Stanford's baseball team to the 1953 College World Series.
Dean is the only coach named to both the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame and the College Baseball Hall of Fame. He was inducted into the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame in 1965. He also has the distinction of being the first basketball All-American from Indiana University.
After retiring from his esteemed coaching career, and returning to their native county, both Everett and his wife, Lena Graves, immediately recognized the signiﬁcance of establishing a community history museum and completely devoted themselves to realizing the ambitious aspirations of the historical society, to open the John Hay Center. They accepted the positions of Co-Chairman of the John Hay Center Project and determined themselves to providing a lasting legacy of contributing a local heritage center; dedicated to imparting the county’s ancestral past to educate and bolster historical pride in the county’s future generations.
Everett Dean’s Passion and Enthusiasm Continues
Everett Dean’s passion and enthusiasm for the Hay Center didn’t stop after the opening. In the late 1970s and into the beginning of the 1980s, Mr. and Mrs. Dean would again helm the efforts to construct the Pioneer Village, underscoring our county’s pioneer history with authentic structures from our county’s past, re-established on the grounds behind the Hay House. Literally enabling today’s generations to walk through the bygone lives of their ancestors.
The Village Comes together with Community Support
Lyle Yake dismantled the logs and helped to reassemble them. The first building was the cabin. It was built in the 1980’s by Dale Marshall and the Salem High School Industrial Arts groups. Roy Robertson, Pete Hoke, and several Green Thumb men built the buildings. Some of those were Huey Bishop, Claude Roop, Dale Wheeler and Warren Meadows.
Continued Growth of the 1830's Pioneer Village
An ongoing project for the John Hay Center, the Pioneer Village continues to grow by leaps and bounds. The village is a replica of an 1830’s community featuring a jail, blacksmith, school, church, Haganman house, smoke house, barn, bell tower, loom house, and New Philadelphia Post Office and General Store.
At various times during the year, volunteers portray excellent renditions of various community figures such as the blacksmith or loom worker.
Visit the Pioneer Village and take a Step Back in Time
The village is located directly behind the Steven’s Museum and is within walking distance of all other attractions. Besides being a step back in time, the pioneer village is an ongoing project for the John Hay Center and will continue to grow for many years to come.
This village is used throughout the year at special times during special occasions. During school tours, open house periods along with the annual Old Settler’s Day weekend. During these special time periods, people can be found in the village appearing with early 1800’s clothing talking with visitors and re-enacting activities.
We look forward to Sharing the Pioneer Village with You
Become a Member of the Washington County Historical Society
Become an individual member or a family member of the Washington County Historical Society and support our mission of connecting people to our past by collecting, preserving, and sharing the artifacts of Washington County, Indiana.